h1

Geared up for 2008

January 8, 2008

Hopefully everyone had a nice holiday break, as I did. It was good to get away for a while and not think about work. I have a great network of friends and family back home in Pensacola that take my mind off of all the craziness. I even got to go to a few of my favorite restaurants (McGuire’s and Jerry’s Cajun Cafe). It was the first real break I enjoyed in a LONG time and it’s always nice to spend that with loved ones.

As some of you may know, I love to read non-fiction “self improvement” books. I feel like, as people, we shape who we are from the moment we are born to the moment we die and we should always strive to become better people. That being said, I have read some books that did not help at all (*cough* David Allen *cough*) and some great ones that have changed my outlook on things. I thought I would share one today.

I love self help books from people who are actually successful. Sometimes you read the bio on a “success guru” and realize that the only success they have had is in selling books. While sometimes they have good insight on what works in life, I find that I get more from reading people that have done something other than just write books. Maybe I believe those people more. I don’t know.

Every new year for the past three I have revisited this book and it’s principles to set myself on the right foot. It’s called “Make It Big!” By Frank McKinney. Frank is a MEGA successful real estate mogul who builds some of the most luxurious mansions in the country. I won’t go into his personal bio, but you can read more about him at http://www.frank-mckinney.com. The point is, Make It Big is truly inspiring. It gives 49 ways that a person can improve their life and get in control. One thing I loved about this book was that it wasn’t just about success in business, but about success in EVERY area of your life. I love that concept. Success on every front.

The principle that I revisit every year is his yearly mission statement retreat. Once a year, as his book talks about, I go by myself and do some reflecting. Not for a few minutes, but for several hours. I look at where I was a year ago by looking at what I wrote down on my last retreat. Then I think of all that happened since then. Am I where I wanted to be? If not, why not? And where do I want to go? What do I want to be like when I read this in one year? I try and look at each level of my life. My professional life. My personal life. My spiritual life. And my charitable life. It’s truly eye opening when you have to answer to a tough critic: yourself. The goal is, as it is every year, to make strides in each area. I write down what I want to accomplish in the coming year in each facet and pray over it. I always come out of my personal retreat happy, focused, and at peace.

If any of you would like to check out Frank’s book, visit http://www.frank-mckinney.com/books_make_it_big.aspx

I found this book at a very low point in my life when I was wandering around a books-a-million looking for direction. It was Frank’s book that jumped off the shelf with the picture of his long hair standing in front of a mansion. Something was so outlandish about it that I had to pick it up. I thought I was going to make fun of it. It ended up changing my life. That book, among other things, inspired me to start Slamwire.

So, as we embark on 2008, find some inspiration, and set out to accomplish something. Even if you don’t quite get there, you are ALWAYS a better person when you mind the business of what it is to be you. Setting goals and committing to them may just help you have the best year yet.

Leave a Reply

